Renaissance Polyphony - Fitch Fabrice | Libro Cambridge University Press 08/2020 -

home libri books ebook dvd e film top ten sconti 0 Carrello

Torna Indietro

fitch fabrice - renaissance polyphony

Renaissance Polyphony

Disponibilità: Normalmente disponibile in 20 giorni
A causa di problematiche nell'approvvigionamento legate alla Brexit sono possibili ritardi nelle consegne.

29,98 €
28,48 €

con corriere veloce per acquisti oltre 29,00 €.

Pagabile anche con 18App Bonus Cultura e Carta del Docente

Facebook Twitter Aggiungi commento


Lingua: Inglese
Pubblicazione: 08/2020

Note Editore

This engaging study introduces Renaissance polyphony to a modern audience. It helps readers of all ages and levels of experience make sense of what they are hearing. How does Renaissance music work? How is a piece typical of its style and type; or, if it is exceptional, what makes it so? The makers of polyphony were keenly aware of the specialized nature of their craft. How is this reflected in the music they wrote, and how were they regarded by their patrons and audiences? Through a combination of detailed, nuanced appreciation of musical style and a lucid overview of current debates, this book offers a glimpse of meanings behind and beyond the notes, be they playful or profound. It will enhance the listening experience of students, performers and music lovers alike.


1. Introducing Renaissance Polyphony; 2. Making Polyphony: Sources and Practice; 3. Makers of Polyphony; 4. Pitch: An Overview; 5. Voice-names, Ranges, and Functions; 6. Mensural Notation, Duration, and Meter; 7. Genre, Texts, Form; 8. 'Cantus magnus': Music for the Mass; 9. 'Cantus mediocris': The Motet; 10. 'Cantus parvus': Secular Music; 11. Scoring, Texture, Scale; 12. Understanding Musical Borrowing; 13. Canons, Puzzles, Games; 14. Performance Practice: A Brief Introduction.


Fabrice Fitch is a composer and musicologist specializing in Renaissance polyphony and its performance. His monograph Johannes Ockeghem: Masses and Models remains the only full-length monograph in English on the composer, and he has published widely on Obrecht, Agricola, other composers of that generation, and the Eton Choirbook. His compositions have been performed by leading soloists and chamber ensembles and broadcast internationally. He has been a reviewer with Gramophone for over 25 years.

i libri che interessano a chi ha i tuoi gusti

Altre Informazioni



Condizione: Nuovo
Collana: Cambridge Introductions to Music
Dimensioni: 244 x 16 x 169 mm Ø 560 gr
Formato: Brossura
Pagine Arabe: 292

Utilizziamo i cookie di profilazione, anche di terze parti, per migliorare la navigazione, per fornire servizi e proporti pubblicità in linea con le tue preferenze. Se vuoi saperne di più o negare il consenso a tutti o ad alcuni cookie clicca qui. Chiudendo questo banner o proseguendo nella navigazione acconsenti all’uso dei cookie.