home libri books Fumetti ebook dvd top ten sconti 0 Carrello

Torna Indietro

mccutchan ann - the muse that sings

The Muse That Sings Composers Speak about the Creative Process

Disponibilità: Normalmente disponibile in 20 giorni
A causa di problematiche nell'approvvigionamento legate alla Brexit sono possibili ritardi nelle consegne.

44,98 €
42,73 €

Questo prodotto usufruisce delle SPEDIZIONI GRATIS
selezionando l'opzione Corriere Veloce in fase di ordine.

Pagabile anche con 18App Bonus Cultura e Carta del Docente

Facebook Twitter Aggiungi commento

Spese Gratis


Lingua: Inglese
Pubblicazione: 10/2003


The Muse That Sings is a unique behind-the-scenes look at both twentieth-century music and the nuts and bolts of creative work. Here, twenty-five of America's leading composers--from Adams to Zorn, from Bolcom to Vierk--talk candidly about their craft, their motivations, their difficulties,
and how they how proceed from musical idea to finished composition.
While focusing on the process and the stories behind specific works, the composers also touch on topics that will interest anyone involved in creative work. They discuss teachers and mentors, the task of revision, relationships with performers, and the ongoing struggle for a balance between freedom
and discipline.
They reveal sources of inspiration, artistic goals, and the often unexpected ways their musical ideas develop. Some describe personal tonal systems; others discuss the impact of computers and other electronic tools on their work; still others reflect philosophically on the inner impulses and outer
influences that continue to drive them.
While serious music has a reputation for being difficult and inaccessible, The Muse That Sings provides a powerful antidote. The composers in this book speak clearly and thoughtfully in response to key questions of concern to all readers interested in contemporary music.
Each interview has been edited to stand alone as a concise meditation on muse and technique, and the book includes selected discographies as well as brief biographical sketches.
Anyone with an interest in twentieth-century music or in the creative process will find this lively collection a valuable source of inspiration and insight.


1 - Eric Stokes (b. 1930)
2 - Steve Reich (b. 1936)
3 - William Bolcom (b. 1938)
4 - John Corigliano (b. 1938)
5 - John Harbison (b. 1938)
6 - Joan Tower (b. 1938)
7 - John Adams (b. 1947)
8 - Claude Baker (b. 1948)
9 - Dan Welcher (b. 1948)
10 - Daniel S. Godfrey (b. 1949)
11 - Fred Lerdahl (b. 1949)
12 - Shulamit Ran (b. 1949)
13 - Christopher Rouse (b. 1949)
14 - Steven Stucky (b. 1949)
15 - Libby Larsen (b. 1950)
16 - Lois V Vierk (b. 1951)
17 - John Zorn (b. 1953)
18 - Michael Daugherty (b. 1954)
19 - James Mobberley (b. 1954)
20 - Bruce Adolphe (b. 1955)
21 - Bright Sheng (b. 1955)
22 - Richard Danielpour (b. 1956)
23 - David Lang (b. 1957)
24 - Sebastian Currier (b. 1959)
25 - Aaron Jay Kernis (b. 1960)


ABOUT THE AUTHOR Award-winning fine arts writer Ann McCutchan is also the author of Marcel Moyse: Voice of the Flute (1994). She is a Lecturer in the School of Music at the University of Texas.

Altre Informazioni



Condizione: Nuovo
Dimensioni: 235 x 16.0 x 156 mm Ø 416 gr
Formato: Brossura
Illustration Notes:numerous halftones
Pagine Arabe: 278

Dicono di noi